A sense of place

Posted: April 16, 2024 in Poetry, thought stream
Tags: , , , ,

A question I often get asked – as I’m sure most poets do – is who do enjoy reading. I have a small bookcase crammed with around one hundred poetry books. I am an eclectic reader! However, I do have certain ‘go to’ poets depending on mood and circumstances.

At the moment, I’m plugged into August Kleinzahler. One of my favourites.

Born in New York, having lived most of his life in San Francisco, his work largely vacillates between these two great cities. But what I like most about his writing is his fine observation of the minute details around where he lives. His sense of and rooting in place.

And this is especially important for me just now. Having moved from Devon, where I effectively grew up as a poet with the help of a wonderful and wide-ranging group of friends, I am now settled into the most delightful of English towns, Shrewsbury.

Already I have been welcomed into a buzzing poetry community and making new friends. Only last week we had the excellent John Hegley as guest at Shrewsbury Poetry and the place was rammed. Followed up by a late-night session with eight of us, including John, back at a friend’s apartment.

But, of course, gelling into your new world takes a lot more than that. And August is helping me down that road.

Leave a comment