Ascension

Posted: March 27, 2017 in thought stream, urban poems

It’s quadrille night at dverse and De has asked us to write a 44-word poem that includes the word ‘balloon’. This idea was penned earlier today in an Exeter café bar!

Rising up into a black ceiling,
all those word balloons
floating out, an unintelligible
cacophony. Just snatches heard.

              I’m a glorified stewardess really.

              It was a nasty moment.

Moving mouths, gestures thrown
around the café bar.
All those emotions discarded
over Americanos and lattes.

coffee bar

Comments
  1. thotpurge says:

    All those emotions discarded
    over Americanos and lattes…so true..if only cafes had ears!

  2. whimsygizmo says:

    Word balloons! How perfect! I adore this. I have written a couple of poems from snatches of conversations in coffee shops, and LOVE the effect. This is wonderful.

  3. I can actually see you sitting there smiling at the word balloons… so little meaning actually.

  4. What a great idea, the word balloons. You really created a sense of place, too.

  5. Grace says:

    Seems like a good day to unwind, forget unpleasant things and just relax over coffee ~

  6. jillys2016 says:

    Noisey places are so inspiring and this poem grabs me at the last line, begging to be read again! I agree with De – snatches of conversation can be so alluring for writing.

  7. Glenn Buttkus says:

    I, too, used “word balloons” in my poem–harkening back to kid’s comics & Sunday paper comics. Only we poets, it seems, can find inspiration in random chatter in public places; smile.

  8. What a creative “take” on the challenge. Listening to word balloons in little cafes is a fascinating hobby! Best to take a notebook!

  9. Of course! Word balloons. I never thought of that. You capture them perfectly, the rise and fall of words in a crowded place.

  10. Waltermarks says:

    Sounds like a great place to write. My wife was watching The Godfather. It’s hard to concentrate. Very good, Paul

  11. kanzensakura says:

    Ah those comic book word balloons! I love the sense of place you gave in this poem.

  12. I love this creative take on the prompt 😀 Bravo!

  13. frankhubeny says:

    I liked the idea of “discarding” emotions over coffee.

  14. kim881 says:

    ‘Word balloons’, ‘gestures thrown around the cafe bar’ and ’emotions discarded
    over Americanos and lattes’ – you’ve really captured the atmosphere, Paul.

  15. Bodhirose says:

    What a great take on the prompt…word balloons! I can hear snippets of conversations and see all the animated gestures around that room too. You brought it to life.
    Gayle ~

  16. Truedessa says:

    Words floating around, stirring in the coffee with cream and sugar

  17. rosemawrites says:

    word balloons. what an interesting take! 🙂 and it is so well described.

  18. maria says:

    Haha! I can picture the scene. Sometime I wonder what those word balloons says. 🙂

  19. Kathy Reed says:

    Imagination the name of the game…we never know what people are thnking, but it’s fun to pretend.

  20. Mama Zen says:

    This is an awesome take on the prompt!

  21. I almost used this idea as I looked up balloon. I still went with the moon. You did a much better job of it than I was.

  22. magpieboy says:

    This is an interesting piece of social observation that deals with it’s subject with a very light touch. The social snapshot that leaves the observer to fill in the details. Deftly handled.

Leave a Reply

