Storytellers

Posted: January 16, 2017 in nature poems

Today at http://dversepoets.com/this-is-us/tonight we are writing a Quadrille. The challenge is to write a poem of exactly 44 words and this time include the word whisper.

Pebbles are the chattering ground
between sea and land until
the tide retreats in whispered
sighs through coarse-grained sand

Stirred up by the moon’s engine room
the tide turns and there’s talk again
.
Waves speak at breaking point,
bringing stories from the horizon.

 

dscf4647

Last summer while recovering from pneumonia I spent time relaxing by the sea
and leaving pebble poems for people to find. Here’s a line I’ve reworked into tonight’s poem

Comments
  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Oh, YES.
    Paul, I cannot help but imagine the DELIGHT of those who found those poems. I wish I could happen upon one. How wonderful. I LOVE this:
    “the tide retreats in whispered
    sighs”

  2. How wonderful you have been leaving pebble poems by the sea for people to find, such a lovely thought! Your last lines ‘Waves speak at breaking point, bringing stories from the horizon’ really stand out for me.

  3. I love the sense of writing poems to be found… what a delight to do… Great image and thought..

  4. This poem is so full of great imagery, but what I love the most where those hidden poems, left for others to discover and enjoy. Great idea.

  5. I love the idea of poems on a pebble. I’d love to find one! I love this poem, too, it really sounds like the sea does.

  6. A pebble poem is the best idea ever!

  7. kim881 says:

    Oh how I would love to find a pebble poem on a North Norfolk beach! I am, however, delighted to have found this poem at the Poets Pub, with its chattering pebbles, moon’s engine room, speaking waves and their stories.

  8. Grace says:

    I reminded me of leaving street poems by street poles. I like the idea of leaving poems on the stones as if they can chatter and tell stories ~ Love your share and thanks for joining us ~

  9. sanaarizvi says:

    I just love the idea of “Waves speak at breaking point, bringing stories from the horizon.” Beautiful!

  10. wolfsrosebud says:

    I like how you gave the sea a gentle voice.

  11. thotpurge says:

    chattering ground… that’s a great description!!

  12. Iris says:

    Awesome:

    “the tide retreats in whispered
    sighs”

    “Stirred up by the moon’s engine room”

  13. kanzensakura says:

    Pebble poems…I love the idea. This reminded me of when I would leave classic haiku on napkins in restaurants. Such a gentle voice your ocean has.

  14. I really like this piece and take on the prompt. Such dreamy words.

  15. rosemawrites says:

    lovely idea and imagery. ❤

  16. Truedessa says:

    This was such a lovely poem and that is really cool leaving poems behind on rocks. Who knows your words may have inspired someone in the journey?

  17. maria says:

    Beautiful! And you gave me the idea. I shall try to leave pebble poems one of these days too. 🙂

  18. C.C. says:

    I love this idea of the moon having an engine room. So imaginative and delightful 🙂

  19. othermary says:

    Great poem, and great idea…leaving bits of verse for people to find. I know I would be tickled to come across one.

  20. Every thing
    IS A
    Whisper
    oF liVe
    when
    LiGht..:)

Leave a Reply

