Seven Poems

Posted: January 30, 2015 in nature poems

So let the stars stay up there,
you can still touch them in the river.
~
After the storm
nature silently surveys
her violence.
~
In the dead of night
only the river
talks to the moon.
~
Out of a slate sky
rain hammers nails
into the window panes.
~
Rain so fine
it’s dust in the air,
cobwebs in my face.
~
If we bothered to listen to it,
the river would tell us
about an epic journey from the moors.
~
Pen held out in the wind
and ink streams away
scrawling poetry across the sky.

Comments
  1. brian miller says:

    my fav is listening to the river…
    i do…and its got a message….
    the touching the stars in the river was a cool one as well
    true that….

  2. wolfsrosebud says:

    so like the river talking to the moon… such a solace scene

  3. kanzensakura says:

    so let the stars stay up there, you can still touch them in the river…..this brought tears to my eyes. It brought up a lot of memories of those stars frozen in the water of the pond, flowing in the river…and when you reach to touch them, they disappear from your fingers. Just lovely.

  4. If we could only comprehend that language.. sometimes I think we stand there only understanding a small portion of what the river tell the moon, or the gentle whisper of the rain.

  5. Truedessa says:

    I wonder what the river would say to the moon? I imagine quite a bit.

  6. Each one lovely, and a complete poem unto itself! I have two favorites:

    In the dead of night
    only the river
    talks to the moon.

    and

    Rain so fine
    it’s dust in the air,
    cobwebs in my face.

    How perfectly you have captured the feel of mist on one’s face!

  7. Susan Chast says:

    I love the weave of nature, river and heavenly bodies through all of these, but my favorite is:
    Rain so fine
    it’s dust in the air,
    cobwebs in my face.
    No one has written about this before. I feel it.

  8. Very visual… rain hammers nails into the window panes… very nice

  9. Prajakta says:

    Breathtaking! And these lines
    “Rain so fine
    it’s dust in the air,
    cobwebs in my face.” – simply took me to a different place!

  10. scotthastiepoet says:

    Very cool and lyrical piece for me Paul – here you talk about the river very much in the same way as I talk about the trees in my own latest piece – very interesting… With Best Wishes Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

  11. Love the imagery in that last stanza, very cool.

  12. Misky says:

    These are brilliant!

  13. Kenn says:

    The natural surroundings that you’ve depicted in this poem reminds me of home. Great poem!

Leave a Reply

