I bought a Bukowski quote pin badge

Posted: September 1, 2014 in urban poems

Charles, I know you’ll think I’m a twat,
but for all that it’s really your fault.
If you hadn’t been so pithy –
and before you ask, I don’t have a lisp –
I wouldn’t have bought it.
In fact somebody wouldn’t have been arsed
to print it. So there it is.
You who got drunk, whored and fought
your way along the far edge of poetry,
flaming the establishment in the process,
have become a commercial success.
All those riding on the back of your life after death.
Raking it in.
Boy, wouldn’t you hammer out a few choice poems,
your typewriter clattering in anger through the small
hours, cigarette smoke and whisky-scented air.
As it is I wear my pin badge with panache.
None of those other saps came up with
‘Poetry is what happens when nothing else can’.

DSCF7281

Leave a Reply

