Lifting the lid

Posted: June 4, 2013 in urban poems

Tonight we are gathering at dVerse  pub for poets. Come and join us, enjoy the company and some fine poetry.

How many times
can I hide behind a joke?
It’s an age thing.
Memory  isn’t what it was.
You know how it is, mind on other things.
But underneath that bravado,
I can’t help wondering.
Is there a black hole
sucking at the nebula that is my brain?
Gradually syphoning off vital stars
that hold blocks of memory.
I only ask because today
I lifted the lid
and threw in my underpants.
Mistaking the toilet
for an adjacent laundry basket.
My mind was obviously
on other things.

Comments
  1. Tony Maude says:

    Thanks for this, Paul, it made me laugh. I have some sympathy though. Some days I get down to do up my shoelaces and find myself wondering what else I can do while I’m down there!

  2. brian miller says:

    ha. hopefully i am laughing with you a bit…i fear this when i start to lose my marbles a bit…think at that point i will take a long walk into the woods…maybe…

  3. That’s actually sad. And yes, I do think of this often. The one thing I think is that I hope to never lose my precious memories, my children, my loves, my childhood. Those things I want to hold onto forever. Now – what I ate fro breakfast, or if my wash is in the washing machine or toilet – yeah – those things won’t be missed so much.

  4. Hmm.. I forgot what I was going to say ;). I like the flow and rhythm of the work.

  5. ayala says:

    Smiled…even though it’s sad..some days are that way….

  6. Mama Zen says:

    Really creative piece. I like it.

  7. Clearly…at least it wasn’t your cell phone you tossed in the wrong basket…

  8. bostonpoetry says:

    I definitely feel that there’s a black hole sucking at my brain. What a cool way to describe that. -Mike

  9. yp25 says:

    I think with all of the multi-tasking that seems to be required of everyone these days, we have all been in your shoes at one time or another. I stand in the kitchen for a few minutes, trying to figure out why I’m staring into the fridge. “What was I looking for?” Then I remember it was the oatmeal and that’s in the pantry….”I’m too young for this,” I told my Grandma and she said, “Well, you’re a busy girl, but wait until you get to be my age! It only gets worse!”
    Feel better?!

  10. Kelvin S.M. says:

    …aww… ridiculous… smiles…

  11. viv blake says:

    Hilarious – and I know the feeling well.

  12. Paul Tobin says:

    You handle the subject with dignity. By placing your uncertainty at the start you draw us all in. i like the image of the brain as some constellation gradually being sucked into a black hole. Wonderful stuff!

Leave a Reply

