Rage fuse

Posted: September 11, 2012 in Poetry, urban poems

It’s Tuesday already and the Poets Pub is open at dversepoets . Guess we all lose it sometimes … this is one time that I did!

I pulled at the thread
in my hard-wired head.
Just a loose end but
a tug and a pluck sent it
all round the bend.

I’d broken a circuit and out
of my mind came
the rage and the fire.
Anger gushed out,
a withering spout and
then I laid waste to

drivers
computers
phones
and the news.

the rain
and the pain
and those
incompetent fools.

Then it was spent and I had to apply
the heat of the whisky to solder
the thread back into my head.

Comments
  1. brian miller says:

    feel you man…like pulling the pin on a grenade the emotions bubble over until spent….and though we try to forget and try to solder i wonder just how able we are….

  2. hedgewitch says:

    Know what you mean…sometimes it gets away from you, gets out of the cage, and then you have to clean up after it. Great language in this, and the cadence works really well to drive the message home.

  3. apshilling says:

    oh yes, i get this . . . whisky and solder
    straight up! 😀

Leave a Reply

