It’s too hot

Posted: July 17, 2012 in Poetry, urban poems

At dversepoets we are celebrating a year since the pub opened. Come and join us!

It’s too hot,
even the flies
can’t be arsed
to bother me today.
They just sit listlessly
on the leg of the fan.
And that’s working hard
to keep me cool. But
it’s not working much.
So I drink cold water.
I drink a Cisk.
I drink tea. I sit and read
some poetry.
I’m not quite sweating.
Even the sweat can’t
be bothered to work
properly.
So my back against
the chair is just clammy.
The Kechem taxi driver,
one arm hanging out
the window, told me
that tomorrow will
be even hotter. Probably
up to 40. They must be
nuts to live here, even
madder than me for
coming here on holiday.
But I like the sun and
I like the sea and the
Maltese are always
very friendly. It’s
just too hot for
road rage,
crime,
rape,
beggars,
cold calling people to
sell double glazing.
Back home the climate is
ideal for that sort of stuff.

Comments
  1. brian miller says:

    haha…i was feeling for you…that is some heat and you describe it perfect through the things that cant happen…in the end thank goodness you escaped the cold callers…fun contrast that…

  2. Claudia says:

    haha…this is fabulous…if we only could rot out crime by heating up the climate..think some nations would think about it… happy holidays to you

  3. Ravenblack says:

    I’m not a fan of my climate, living in the tropics, we don’t get up to forty at least but it’s hot and humid enough to cause one to not want to move. I like the sun at the beach though. Excellent poem describing the mood that heat like that could cause. 🙂

  4. Paul Tobin says:

    I like the subtle rhythm in the poem and I think you capture that feeling when it’s just too hot to move but you can’t settle.

Leave a Reply

