I will not grow old with me

Posted: May 4, 2012 in Poetry

At dVerse Poets a great challenge has been laid down by Sam … to write a Clarian Sonnet (basically 7 rhymed couplets, 10 syllables a line – um … mine’s worked out at 9 which makes it a Welsh Clarian Sonnet!)

The bathroom mirror is speaking lies
Staring back at me are dark-ringed eyes
It tells of a face mud-cracked by years
Locked in view superficial fears
But there’s an image it can’t see behind
It has no power to reflect the mind
Thoughts and action it would imprison
But the inner me has a bigger vision
Filled with energy I do embrace
All offered up for me to taste
A river bed carved out by force
A life flowing full on its own course
So in the mirror there is no age
I see the man and not the image

Comments
  1. A Welsh Clarian sonnet – I like that! And an accomplished one at that, highlighting that adage not to judge a book by its cover, underlining the strength of years and the distilled wisdom that belie any fragility in an aging countenance. Great job!

  2. I’m with you! It’s funny, too; when I was young, I wasn’t a bad looking guy, and I was constantly worrying about how I looked. Now, looking much the worse for wear, I don’t give a hoot!
    Your words ring true; the life is inside, and mirrors don’t reflect it. … Unless, my big ol’ grin is a sign of what’s inside! I really enjoyed the sonnet!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/then-quickly-gone/

  3. aprille says:

    ‘course it does :
    Look at all the time we’ll save reading it 😉
    Besides, what’s a syllable between friends.We are not all tapping our fingers.Personally I think syllables are highly overrated anyways.
    I loved the thoughts engendered by your mirror. Wish I could look upon mine in a similar fashion.

  4. brian miller says:

    haha way to adjust the frm to your liking….smiles….i like that you see the man and not just what the mirror shows you…it tells lies you know…

  5. hedgewitch says:

    I like the images you’ve chosen–they go really well together to express the changes of time–the mud-cracked face, the erosion of the river bed as a natural force–builds a picture of strength and certainty, and that suits the form as well. Great response to the prompt, and nothing’s more fun than inventing your own forms. (Yours is very much the anti-thesis of mine, too, which made it interesting for me personally.)

  6. ayala says:

    A life flowing full on its own course
    So in the mirror there is no age
    I see the man and not the image…..great lines, well penned!

  7. Shawna says:

    “It has no power to reflect the mind” … Oh, this is a great turn. Loved it.

  8. Chazinator says:

    I think we all see that image, at least inside as you say. It’ll be an interesting day when I start seeing myself in spirit as I really am in the mirror. You’ve done this very nicely within the form.

Leave a Reply

