Electrical charge

Posted: April 28, 2012 in Poetry

Tonight dVerse Poets has laid down the topic of ‘vampires’. I thought of writing something from an obtuse angle, but decided to have fun and go straight for the jugular ….

Go on lady, vamp it up,
pout your blood red lips,
let those glitter-eyes
strip aside my defences.
Gently toss that tumbling
sea of raven hair.

Throw the switch,
release the electric charge
so it pulses through
my nerve streams,
melting every atom
in my emotional fusebox.

Then and only then
when I’m in a state
of frozen fascination,
part your mouth, bare
your teeth, blinding
me in a whiteout.

Draw close to me, let
your scent fill the air
petrifying my impulses.
And as you lower lips
to back of my neck,
a scream –

slices through everything.
I wake up sweating
and curse my weakness.

Comments
  1. Laurie Kolp says:

    Yes, this is quite an electrical charge… enjoyed it! My vampire’s male.

  2. Ahhh… at least it was a dream. Curses LOL

  3. Oh seriously good, really like the angle you took, nice work Sir (I doth my cap).

  4. brian miller says:

    ha…you are not the only one weak in the knees i imagine in the face of such alluring magic…you know…hard to blame yourself when you are but a mere mortal eh? smiles.

  5. I am enjoying the men’s perspective of this prompt…plunge right into it….alas its all a dream…darn it 🙂

    http://a-sweetlust.blogspot.ca/2012/04/poetics-vampires.html

  6. claudia says:

    haha nice…this is great..esp. liked..
    Throw the switch,
    release the electric charge
    so it pulses through
    my nerve streams,
    melting every atom
    in my emotional fusebox… and then the closure…well…in the end we’re just mortals..right…smiles

  7. hobgoblin2011 says:

    Love it. Even in your intro, you use the word jugular, perfect. The ending is neat as well, as it offers a cool little twist. Great job. Thanks

  8. Blue Flute says:

    I like the poem, it had an intense flow to it and the twist at the end. The part about cursing your weakness had me thinking.

  9. melting every atom
    in my emotional fusebox.

    Awesome, you capture the allure well.

  10. First female vampire I’ve encountered tonight – and what an electrical write, tingling, like a live wire.

  11. Patti says:

    Ah, ya gotta love a willing victim!

Leave a Reply

